Book Review – Exodus (Kregel Exegetical Library) (8/2)

Currently, my church is doing a series on Exodus, so when I was given a chance to review this commentary, I took up the offer eagerly. And I must say, I am not disappointed with this commentary.

Exodus (Kregel Exegetical Commentary)Daune A. Garrett has written an excellent exegetical commentary on Exodus. In his introduction, Garrett not only goes through the usual issues of authorship and composition, he also highlights to the reader the importance of the geography of the land, and also a in-depth history of the Egyptians. While I found the introduction to be a bit too long, I must say that the introduction was comprehensive, and very accessible even to people who are new to the issues surrounding Exodus.

Two clear strengths can be found in this commentary. First Garrett always deals with the text honestly. Garrett always wrestle with the text iteslf, and at times, is even willing to take the step to disagree with conservative scholars.

An example can be found in Ex 4:24-26, a very difficult passage. Here Garrett sticks to the reading of the hebrew text and shows very clearly that Moses was not mentioned anyone within these verses, only a generic him is used. Having gone through the various views, Garrett comes out with what he thinks should be the most faithful understanding of this passage. I found his answers to be well-articulated and well-thought through.

Do note that as this is a technical commentary, knowledge of both greek and hebrew is required to be able to make full sure of this commentary. Overall, I found this commentary to be excellent and pastors or scholars should add to their collection. This commentaries offers many helpful observations to the readers and should be consulted often.

Rating: 4.5 / 5

If you’re interested, you can get it here, and here (free international shipping).

Disclaimer: I was given this book free from the publisher in exchange for an honest review

