Book Review – Why I am not an Atheist (1/4)

There are many reasons why I am a christian, and there are also many reasons why others belong to their religions. However, are there reasons for one to be not an atheist? This book says there is.

Why I am not an AtheistWithin this book, 11 reasons were given in this book, each explored in one chapter. These 11 chapters are essentially testimonies given by the 11 persons. Each of them brings with them their experience and their reasons for not being an atheist.

As I read these chapters, I found that the authors do not write exclusively within their own sphere, as I had expected. For example, the biologist in the first chapter approach the reason why he is not an atheist by examining the philosophical basis of science than approaching the topic with biological evidences. Whereas in the 2nd chapter, the university chaplain uses more biological  reasons/evidences to explain why he is not an atheist.

All in all, I found the chapters to be readable, but not terribly a good read. However, I found chapter 11 by Ravi Zacharias to be excellent and certain one of the best chapters within the book. I think readers should really take this book to be a book that shares individual testimonies and reasons why they are not atheist. I have found their own argument to be logical and well argued, though not everyone will agree with their reasons.

I would think that this book would most likely suit those who are agonist or are christians who are studying in the university. they would not only find good reasons why someone is not an atheist, they will also find reasons why someone should (or must) be a christian. Those who are ardent atheist might not necessarily appreciate this book.

Rating: 3.5 / 5

If you’re interested, you can get it here and here (free international shipping), Kindle.

Disclaimer: I was given this book free from the publisher in exchange for an honest review

