Book Review – Jonah: God’s Scandalous Mercy (Hearing the Message of Scripture: A Commentary on the Old Testament) (24/4)

Jonah is a book in the bible that almost everyone can read in one sitting and certainty one of the most read minor prophets. Written in a narrative format, Jonah can be easily understood by the young and the old.

Jonah: God's Scandalous Mercy (Hearing the Message of Scripture: A Commentary on the Old Testament)Kevin J. Youngblood has written a commentary to help pastors tackle this minor prophet exegetically. The commentary is spilt into 3 portion, first Youngblood gives us his own translation for the book of Jonah. Next, he gives the customary introductory materials you often see in commentaries and finally, the commentary on the text of Jonah.

What I found helpful within this commentary is how it helps to crystallise the text into a main sentence. I have found that often when I try to exegete a passage, I want to know if I am getting the right picture, and this certainly helps me check to see if I’m a similar path with the author.

A 2nd feature that I found very helpful in this commentary is how they highlight the structure of the book of Jonah. I must say this is one area I often overlook when studying a passage, and I am thankful for Youngblood for pointing out these structure, and highlighting the important points the literary structure wants to bring out.

If you are looking out for a verse-by-verse commentary on the book of Jonah, I would certainly recommend you to take a look at this commentary, or even to buy and use it. Do note that you would need to have a working knowledge of hebrew to be able to fully utilise it. But, even as one who does not have any knowledge of hebrew, I found it helpful in my own study of Jonah.

Rating: 4.25 / 5

If you’re interested, you can get it here and here (free international shipping).

Disclaimer: I was given this book free from the publisher in exchange for an honest review


Here is the author introducing his commentary:

