Book Review – Counter Culture (14/6)

I usually do not like reading books that claims that Christians can change the world/revolutionised  the world. I usually find them too far fetched or too arrogant in their claims. This book however was very different from such books. Although one might think that this book teaches how christians can do great things to change the world, this book does otherwise.

Having seen a receCounterculturent rave on this book, and having read and heard about David Platt previously, I decided to try reading this book although this is a topic I usually skip. I have found that this book does not attempt to tell you what you can do to change the world, this book however will deeply challenge how serious you take the christian faith.

Platt first starts by affirming that the most counterculture thing in the christian faith is the gospel. This I found was a point at has often been skipped over by other christian authors. Often, what is considered to be countercultural is actually the implications of the gospel (you should be…). Platt however sets the picture straight, the most countercultural thing is that God saves us by His grace through faith in Christ Jesus, and that remains always to be the most counterculture aspect of the christian faith.

Next, Platt raises to the reader’s attention several issues that challenges the christian who are living in comfort. He tackles the issue of poverty, showing how it affects the rest of the world and what we can do to help solve this problem. Time and time again, Platt points out several simple things in life that we take for granted, but these are actually huge problems in various part of the world. He challenges the christians living in modern times to examine our lives and to see how we can fight for what is biblical. Added to his, Platt often gives example of what is happening near the home. His examples do not just consists of stories that happened in a far away land, no, he often gives examples of what is happening within United States.

I have gone away being deeply challenged by this book. I have been challenged not to change the world by doing something big for God, but I have been challenged to change the many aspects of my lives so that I can be countercultural at where I am. I highly encourage all christians to give this book a read, you might be challenged to examine your lives and change your way of live because of it.

Rating: 5 / 5

If you’re interested, you can get it here and here (free international shipping), Kindle.

Disclaimer: I was given this book free from the publisher in exchange for an honest review

