Book Review – Theological Guide to Calvin’s Institutes (19/6)

John Calvin’s Institutes is no doubt one of the most influential and important theological writings in the history of the church. However, as a young youth I have struggled trying to read his Institutes. Eventually I gave up, hoping that as I mature further I would be able to learn much from this pastor theologian.

Theological Guide to Calvin’s InstitutesNow having read this theological guide to the Institutes. I must say I go away being more convinced that I must really take time and effort to read the Institutes. What I found most helpful within this guide, is how they authors group various chapters of the Institutes into one chapter and shows very clearly the flow of Calvin’s thought in the Institutes. In addition to this, the authors of each chapter adds on to what Calvin has said in the Institutes, they give their summary of what Calvin has written, and shows it’s support from scripture or from other authors, past or modern.

This book really serves as a festschrift to John Calvin was well as a theological summary of the various section within the institutes. I have gain much from this book, and would highly recommend you to read this book alongside with Calvin’s Institutes. If there is only one guide you would need as you read the Institutes, you should get this book. I would be recommended this book for any one who is willingly to work hard to understand to try to understand the Institutes, whether you are a pastor, a layman or a seminary student. This volume will be of help and use to you as you read and study the Institutes.

Rating: 5 / 5

If you’re interested, you can get it here and here (free international shipping) or if you’re looking looking for an devotional based on the Institutes, I recommend you get “Zeal for Godliness: Devotional Meditations on Calvin’s Institutes” (here for international readers).

Disclaimer: I was given this book free from the publisher in exchange for an honest review

