Book Review – Advances in the Study of Greek (18/8)

With so many advances in the various fields, one might ask whether there have been  any advances in the study of greek that should affect the way we understand the study of greek? Constance Campbell argues there have been much advances and he wants more preachers and scholars to be aware of them.

Advances in the Study of GreekA note before I start, I read this book with an extremely weak knowledge of greek. I can do only simple transliteration and has some knowledge of greek vocabulary. My greek grammar is almost non-existent  and thus please take my review as such. I would mainly be reviewing how useful this book would be for those who are extremely new to greek.

Campbell raises 8 advances that have happened in the study of greek. But before he goes to them, Campbell skilfully gives a short history of greek study. As someone who is not acquainted with history of greek studies, I thoroughly enjoyed Campbell’s history. I have gain much from this chapter and found this chapter most helpful to the non-greek readers.

Next Campbell moves to the most crucial advancement, which is the advancement of linguistics theories and lexical semantics. This has change much in the studies of greek. Again, I come from one who is terribly new to the linguistics studies, I have found this chapter to be very invigorating as I have gain much from this chapter with regards to the linguistics studies.

the next few chapters were chapters I read very briefing, they dealt with the technical aspects of greek studies and I have decide not to comment on them. I shall leave this task to those who are much more competent in the study of greek.

In summary would I recommend someone who is new to greek to buy this book? Sure! If you’re serious about studying greek, I found this book very helpful. First, Campbell covers things you would never find in any of the textbooks that teaches you greek. Next, if you want to be a good student of greek, then you should be aware of the advances in the study of the greek language. However, if you do not intent to study greek for a substantial amount of time, then this is not a book for you.

For scholars in greek, this is definitely one of the books you should consult soon. Similarly, if you are a pastor who is often consulting commentaries that interacts directly with the greek text and greek, then you too should give this book a greek. Hopefully this book will help you keep abreast of the advancements of greek and prevent yourself from making the same mistakes others have made in the past.

Rating:  4.25 / 5

If you’re interested, you can get it here and here (free international shipping), Kindle.

Disclaimer: I was given this book free from the publisher in exchange for an honest review

