Book Review – Oxford Illustrated History of World War Two (2/12)

World War Two has been a horrific war. The death toll has been recorded to be around 60 million people, which constitute almost 3% of the world population at that time. I certainty do not hope for any more of such world war to ever happen again. Given that the crucial role world war 2 played in the human history, it is no wonder books, films and documentaries have been made around it. This book is a somewhat scholarly take on an immense topic.

Oxford Illustrated History of World War TwoI was, at first, quite naive to think that this would be a book that I could read cover to cover. I’ve discovered that this book, is certainty not one you would read cover to cover, it is rather one that you would certainty use as a reference book.

This book gives a very full-orbed view of world war 2. Each author gives an in-depth introduction to a particular aspect of the war. Far too often books focuses on one particular aspect of World War 2, but this book does not repeat such a mistake. What I enjoyed especially is how the book talks about how the World War moved towards the Cold War. I find that books often treat them as two separate topics, but this book shows how they are linked to each other.

I’ve not found this to be fun reading, but it was certainty useful for giving me an in-depth knowledge of what has happened in World War 2. I hope those who are interested in World War 2 will find this book helpful and enlightening.

Rating: 3.75 / 5

If you’re interested you can get it here and here (free international shipping), kindle.

Disclaimer: I was given this book free from the publisher in exchange for an honest review

