Book Review – Roman Catholic Theology and Practice: An Evangelical Assessment (7/12)

For those who do not interact very often with Roman Catholics do you know what they believe and the difference between their belief and the Protestant belief system? Prior to reading the book, I’ve only a brief understanding of the Catholic faith, such as how Catholic believe that faith plus works secures salvation, but Protestant believe that faith alone secures salvation. That certainly was too shallow an understanding.

Roman Catholic Theology and Practice: An Evangelical AssessmentGregg R. Allison has written a comprehensive book that deals with the differences between the Catholic and Protestant faith. This book is certainly no light reading and will need readers who are discipline in reading it all the way through. As a novice in this topic, I like how Allison first gives a broad overview on what the Catholic faith is about. I have found this portion very helpful as I examine the different areas in the atheism of the Catholic church. I appreciate how Allison summaries the difference between Catholic and Protestant as the ‘and’ vs ‘alone’. In the Catholic church, scripture and tradition holds authority whereas in the Protestant faith, scripture alone holds the authority. This really helped to give a framework in understanding the Catholic faith.

In the chapters following Allison then brings the readers through the Catholic catechism examining them part by part. Allison first breaks down the catechism into smaller chunks, he then examines and explains what the catechism teaches. Next Allison gives an evaluation of the section from an evangelical perspective. He highlights the errors in the catechism but also show christians some pointers that we can learn from their catechism.

Being new to the Catholic faith, I have to say I felt slightly overwhelm by the amount of new information I was getting. This is one book that I have to plough through slowly, but I am thankful that Allison guides us through the book not as an outsider, but examines the Catholic faith as one who has been brought up in the Catholic faith. I’ve found the book to be informative and helpful. I’ll surely use it as reference the next time I wish to talk to a Catholic.

For those who find themselves often interacting to people of the Catholic faith, this book will be a helpful and compressive guide into what a Catholic believe and also give us insights as to what we can agree and have to disagree with the Catholic faith.

Rating: 4.25 / 5

If you’re interested you can get it here and here (free international shipping), kindle.

Disclaimer: I was given this book free from the publisher in exchange for an honest review

