Book Review: The Unbelievable Gospel: Say Something Worth Believing (26/12)

Evangelism has to be one of the most difficult task a christian has to do. I know I find it difficult to initiate a conversion and somehow share the gospel with my friends. Often, there is an unspoken sense of guilt that comes over me when I know I have missed a “golden opportunity”  to share the gospel. This is why I have found this book helpful for myself.

The Unbelievable Gospel: Say Something Worth BelievingJonathan K. Dodson anticipates that many have this unspoken burden and wants to lift this burden off their shoulders. Dodson very carefully helps readers think beyond the “golden opportunity” mindset. Rather he encourages christians to use both their lives and speech to be good witness for Jesus. He helps readers see that sharing the gospel can be a process that flows naturally, rather than always having a project or achievement mentality.

Having set the mentality a Christian ought to have about evangelism, Dodson then sets out to highlight what the gospel is. He helps christians see the gospel with new eyes. This sections is especially helpful for those who have been numb to what the gospel means for their lives. While reading these 3 chapters, Dodson hopes to let the gospel be good news once again to his readers.

Having shown the gloriousness of the gospel, Dodson then brings out 5 themes that will allow christians to share the gospel. These themes being common to everyone makes perfect sense why Dodson will want to write on these topics. As I was reading this section, I envisioned myself taking the same approaches in trying to share the gospel to the people around me. This section was helpful in letting me thinking through the various channels I can use to share the gospel. This section also helped me see how the gospel is relevant to my everyday life.

I found the book helpful to those who are new or are already familiar with evangelism. If you find evangelism to be a difficult task, why not give this a read and see if it’ll help you deal with it?

Rating: 4 / 5

If you’re interested, you can get it here and here (free international shipping), kindle.

Disclaimer: I was given this book free from the publisher in exchange for an honest review

P.S. You might also be interested to get Tell the Truth: The Whole Gospel Wholly by Grace Communicated Truthfully & Lovingly, I found this book helpful in helping learn and understand how to do evangelism. Get it here and here (free international shipping), kindle.

